“Technically and consistently masterful”

— RNZ on Turning Points Christopher's Classics Series

The New Zealand String Quartet, who recently celebrated their 32nd season, regularly tour to the UK, Europe and North America where they are renowned for their versatility and passionate communication through music. They are also enthusiastic champions of New Zealand composers and supporters of emerging musicians.

In their new programme, Secrets of Sea and Space, the Quartet, joined by soprano Jenny Wollerman, transport you with Arnold Schoenberg’s String Quartet No. 2. The Schoenberg is handsomely paired with a quartet by one of his most celebrated students, Alban Berg, who furthered his mentor’s twelve-tone technique with Lyric Suite.

The programme concludes with Ross Harris’s ode to the unforgiving oceans, The Abiding Tides. Originally commissioned for Wollerman and the New Zealand String Quartet, the piece uses poems by Vincent O’Sullivan, whose premise, “the sea has no favourites”, concedes to an ocean as vast as it uncompromising. Adventurous spirits will be rewarded by this exquisite programme.

Guest Soprano
Jenny Wollerman

There is a free pre-show touch tour and talk for this event available for patrons who are Blind or with low vision and have booked tickets though our Access & Inclusion programme. For more information about our Access & Inclusion programme visit our Access pages.

Download the event programme here.

The New Zealand String Quartet

First Violin
Helene Pohl

Second Violin
Monique Lapins

Gillian Ansell

Rolf Gjelsten

Guest Soprano
Jenny Wollerman

Thanks to


St Mary of the Angels

  • Wheelchair Access Symbol.png Wheelchair accessible
  • Touch Tour Symbol.jpg Touch Tour and Pre-Show Talk 5pm
Duration: 1hr 40mins (incl. interval)

Music Access
Related Events
All Events
Stay and Play
All Deals